What makes a student feel like they are part of a community of new ideas? How can students join this technology tsunami and be surfing on the wave instead of being pushed around in the undertow.  It begins with a teacher that is willing to weave new methods into the core information that needs to be learned. They need to be willing to let students explore in the playground of online media as they stand on the sidelines being the cheerleader of learning. My students love the new equipment that I place in front of them.  Many have become experts in flipping and twirling on the new toys. Some have fallen on their faces, but most have enjoyed the new techy playground equipment and feel like they are experts at them. What is most meaningful to me is when my students are engaged in learning. What helps my students most is feeling safe with what I give them to explore .  What I use the most is what my students have clung to. In other words, I allow a flood of ideas to come into the classroom so that when the tide changes, my students are manning the boats with a portfolio of options instead of floating in a kiddy life jacket.



Leave a Reply.