Reflection
We worked in groups on a project called infographics. I personally like the project but I am a visual person. Being this creative isn't everyones cup of tea. I went back to my sixth grade class and tried an introduction of 15 minutes with them.  They enjoyed seeing what they were, but like teaching someone to do an essay, this would take time.  It is a mix of art + data.  In our world of gathering data, I see a need to put it somewhere.  I love the idea going visual.  It is also entertaining. Now let's talk time. When I am creative, I find it necessary to sit and let ideas gather.  As I read, I see pictures.  Then I play with them on the page with a pencil and eraser. When our group worked together on one, not everyone thought in pictures.  I did, but I always think that way. One thing I really like is the possibilities of helping people get a snapshot of data.


Leadership project
We will be doing a leadership project where we teach five peers something in technology.  We need a lesson plan and will be observed by our teachers. Personally, I do this every week with about 25 fifth and sixth graders in my volunteer Tech Club every Tuesday at 3:00 to 4:00.  I don't create a lesson plan for endeavor but we are actively engaged for an hour.  I'm thinking about doing Flubaroo because of the benefit to teachers, but I would have to set up five teachers with a Weebly and Gmail account before I taught the class. I'm down with that. Teachers need something that will make a difference instead of something they can't use but once. On the other hand, I love to give new ideas to students and let them work and play with the new technology item.  It is their level of play.



Class Notes
Darrin Draper-Skyping
Take aways
  • Technology changes teaching and learning.
  • The room is smarter than the teacher...because we let the world come into our class room. We have become facilitators not all knowledgeable.

  • I don't think that technology is necessary but it should be used to reach our goals not just for technology sake. The teacher needs to a purpose in your technology.

  • This technology changes people...when invisible instead of the purpose of the lesson.

  • If a teacher is not sharing what he or she knows, there is no education happening.  Education is sharing and is about being open.- David Wiley

  • We need to share with people who are less fortunate. 

Self Start
What are 2 leaders you admire?

Engaging in Professional Growth and Leadership

Video: Youtube- Here is to the crazys because they change things.

Leadership 
Next steps:
1. Have a goal
2. Be persistent
3. Enjoy incremental gains in desirable directions
4. Let go of total fulfillment

Apps:
Springpad- free
[email protected]

Infographics
http://www.michaelfullan.ca/media/13396086820.pdf
http://piktochart.com

springpad.com
leadership part

[email protected]     teacher
[email protected]       teacher



Leave a Reply.